AIFD Announces 2012 PFDE Results

Sixty-two of the 71 candidates were successful in their bid to become a Certified Floral Designer (CFD®) as bestowed by the American Institute of Floral Designers (AIFD), it was announced by Ann Jordan AIFD, CFD, president of the Institute.

The candidates participated in AIFD’s rigorous Professional Floral Designer Evaluation  (PFDE) session held July 10, immediately prior to the AIFD National Symposium “Caliente” in Miami. Earning a CFD is the first step of the PFDE; the ultimate goal is to become an Accredited Member of AIFD.

Of the 62 who earned their CFD credentials (34) or maintained their CFD credentials (28), 12 created artistic designs that were so excellent in presentation that they have been invited to become a member of AIFD and to be inducted during ceremonies at the 2013 AIFD National Symposium “Passion” in Las Vegas, June 28-July2.

During a PFDE, candidates must create five designs in four hours – product and categories are not announced until the PFDE begins. Designs are then evaluated based on ten points of professional floral design including mechanics, balance, color, theme, line, creativity and mechanics.

Prior to participating in the design portion of the PFDE, candidates must complete certain education requirements and successfully complete an online test to evaluate their fundamental understanding of design.

CFD designers are required to maintain their professional designation by accumulating 25 hours of floral design continuing education or serving in various capacities in floral associations.

New CFD designers include:

Cheryl Andrews CFD
Cheryl’s Distinctive Creations
Ocoee, FL

Shinta Arifin CFD
San Fancisco, CA

Flavia Bruni CFD
Daisy Flowers
Rome, Italy

Hyo Jung Choe CFD
Seoul, South Korea

Kelly Donohue CFD
Matlack Florist
West Chester, PA

Adrianna Duran-Leon CFD
Albuquerque, NM

Tricia Fillingim CFD
The Fresh Flower Market
Castle Rock, CO

Leanna Gearhart-Theye CFD
Eastern Floral
Kentwood, MI

Rebecca Geary CFD
La Otto, IN

Tammy Gibson CFD, KMF 
Louisville, KY

Marisa Guerrero CFD     
Debbie’s Bloomers
El Paso, TX

Patricia Harold CFD
Cross Lanes Floral
Cross Lanes, WV

Mi Hae Jin CFD
Songpa-ku Seoul, South Korea

Kirk Joiner CFD
Passion Growers LLC
Miami, FL

Nishazad Khan CFD
Plantation, FL

Jayoon Kim CFD
Brooklyn, NY

Hanbeol Kim CFD
Seoul, South Korea

Mirae Kim CFD
Gangnam-Ku, Seoul, South Korea

Aniko Kovacs CFD
Vancouver, BC, Canada

Michiko Koyama CFD
Ivy Floral Design School
Okegawa City, Saitama, Japan

Phan Lai CFD
Southern California School of Floral Design
Orange, CA

Hwa Eun Lee CFD
Seoul, South Korea

Ji-Hye Lee CFD
Seoul, South Korea

Marcela Lopez-Vallejo CFD
Blacksburg, VA

Bogar Marin CFD
Cuautitlan, Izcalli, Mexico

Kimberly Martin CFD
University of Misssouri-Tiger Garden
Columbia, MO

Valerie McLaughlin CFD
Wallingford, PA

Michelle Morgan CFD
Morgan Investment Enterprises LLC
DBA Katherine’s Florist
Clermont, FL

Jenna Naylor CFD      
Ederyn Floral LLC
DBA A Daisy A Day
Stone Mountain, GA

Poppy Parsons CFD
Swift City, SK, Canada

Tommye Pendergrass CFD
Pikeville Flower Shop
Pikeville, TN

Angela Petri CFD
Fort Lauderdale, FL

Nga Plakotoris CFD
La Vie en Rose
Tampa, FL

Christine Price CFD
Glendale, AZ

J Ross Railey CFD
Birmingham, AL

Iris Salmon CFD        
Grower Direct Inc.
Beaumont, AB, Canada

Dee Schipman CFD
Billings, MT

Marilyn Schuenemann CFD
Leander, TX

Sara Severance CFD
Franklin, NH

Patricia Velarde Chapa CFD
ADAF Mexico, Monterrey, NL, Mexico

Annie Wang CFD
Shanghai, China

Jae Yun CFD
San Francisco, CA


Renewed CFD designers include:

Jacqueline Davis CFD        
Sunset Beach, CA

Laura Iarocci CFD
Faith Flowers, LLC
Atlanta, GA

Hunter Margolf CFD  
Boulder, CO

Christopher Branham CFD  
Middlesboro, KY

Ashley Greer CFD     
Alexandria, VA

Sae Byul Ham CFD  
Gyeonggi-do, South Korea

Junko Irie CFD 
Chiba, Japan

Sharon Ivey CFD, GMF 
D&S Creative Ent, Inc
Watkinsville, GA

Sawako Kano CFD  
Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Connie LeBlanc CFD   
Hearts Desire Florist
Houma, LA

Jae-Eun Lee CFD  
Busan City, South Korea

Min Lee CFD  
Yong san-gu, Seoul, South Korea

Jessica Li CFD     
San Francisco, CA

Keiko Maeda CFD  
Nagasakiken, Japan

Cara Prescott CFD  
Jamestown, ND

Ivana Royse CFD
Bellflower, CA

Debra Schwarze CFD        
Minneapolis, MN

Doriswati Suradilaja CFD
Phoenix, AZ

Tomomi Takazakura CFD    
Gunma, Ota-shi Japan

Arthur Williams CFD  
Babylon Floral Design Inc.
Denver, CO


Become an Accredited Member of AIFD

Learn More

2020 Partners