Tim Farrell AIFD, CFD, AAF, PFCI Named President of American Institute of Floral Designers


Tim Farrell AIFD, CFD, AAF, PFCI of Farrell’s Florist in Drexel Hill, Pa. was installed as president of the American Institute of Floral Designers (AIFD) during the organization’s 2014 National Symposium held in Chicago, July 3-7. He succeeds John Kittinger AIFD, CFD of The Best of Flowers in Lexington, Ky., as the volunteer leader of the floral industry’s leading organization in design education.

Installed as president-elect of AIFD was Joyce Mason-Monheim AIFD, CFD, PFCI of Designer Destination in Tucson, Ariz.  Anthony Vigliotta AIFD, CFD of Anthos Design in Los Angeles, Calif. was elected to serve as the Institute’s vice president. Kim Oldis AIFD, CFD of Details…..it’s all about the flowers in La Conner, Wash. will serve as AIFD’s secretary and Tom Simmons AIFD, CFD of Three Bunch Palms Productions in Palm Springs, Calif. will continue to serve as treasurer of the Institute.

Jackie Lacey AIFD, CFD, PFCI of Floriology Institute in Hilton Head Island, S.C. will continue to serve as the membership chairperson. Marie Ackerman AIFD, CFD, PFCI, AAF of Teleflora Education Center in Oklahoma City, Okla. will take on the role as AIFD’s 2015 Symposium coordinator for “Journey” taking place June 30-July4 in Denver, Co. and Vonda LaFever AIFD, CFD, PFCI of Niceville, Fla. will be the Symposium program coordinator.

Continuing to serve as directors-at-large are Suzie Kostick AIFD, CFD, Bill McKinley AIFD, CFD of Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas, BJ Dyer AIFD, CFD, AAF, CPF of Bouquets in Denver, Colo. Elected to serve new terms are Frank Feysa AIFD, CFD of Garden Gate in Aurora, Ohio and Robyn Arnold AIFD, CFD of Marion Smith Florist in Wesley Chapel, Fla.

Continuing to serve as regional chapter representatives are Ron Mulray AIFD, CFD of the Philadelphia Flower Co. in Philadelphia, Pa. for the North East Chapter, Jim Rauch AIFD, CFD, OCF of Unique Designs Floral Studio in Dayton, Ohio for the North Central Chapter, Marie Ackerman AIFD, CFD, PFCI, AAF of Teleflora Education Center in Oklahoma City, OK for the South Central Chapter and Michael Quesada AIFD, CFD of Kaleidscope Flowers in Santa Barbara, Calif. for the Southwest Chapter. Elected to serve a new term are Wil Gonzalez AIFD, CFD of Rainforest Fantasy Flower Shop in Ukiah, Calif. for the North West Chapter and David Shover AIFD, CFD of Modern Designs in Vienna, Va. for the Southern Chapter.

Thomas C. Shaner, CAE, continues as AIFD’s executive director. AIFD is headquartered in Baltimore.